Skip to content

Learn C on the Mac by Dave Mark

Sunday, April 26, 2009
Learn C on the Mac.jpg

Whew! After one semester of bleary-eyed coding, I’ve finally completed my C programming module, CS1101C. I actually used this book instead of my set text: Learn C on the Mac by Dave Mark (Apress). It’s a very beginner-friendly book, both clear and concise for easy reading. I highly recommend it for anyone who’s totally new to programming and wants to start off with plain C.

Their recommended roadmap for would-be Mac and iPhone developers is first C, then Objective-C, and finally Cocoa / Cocoa Touch, and that’s where I’ll be heading.

I can’t emphasize enough how excited I am.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephen permalink
    Tuesday, August 18, 2009 5:39 am

    I just got this book and have started digging in and really enjoy it. I’ve been online for about 23-years but never actively programmed before except for some Basic back in the early 80’s, so this is all new turf.

    I searched a LOT on the ‘net to find a beginner’s C book and, since I ultimately want to learn Cocoa Touch, I found this to be the best path.

    So, how has your C been coming along?

  2. Wednesday, October 28, 2009 3:19 pm

    Just chanced upon this blog. wow lots of stuff coming from a big time apple fan. anyway its quite weird to see you learn C from this book instead of any the text that you have. Have this book too, but haven’t really read. Was thinking of diving straight into Objective-C to do Mac Programming.

Leave a Reply

